ITIL® Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement, Exam included


This 3 days course let participants acquire a deeper understanding of how to evaluate and continually improve IT services and ITIL® processes.
This course is designed to balance theory, practical exercices; and review of current ITIL® implementation.
At the end of this training, candidates will get enough knowledge and understanding to take the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification : Continual Servive Improvement examination.


This course is intended for people who want to:
  • Pass the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Continual Servive Improvement examination
  • Formalise their experience and analyse their current ITIL® implementation

This includes, amongst others:
  • IT directors and managers, technology managers
  • Other managers, supervisors, team managers
  • Designers, architects, planners
  • IT consultants, IT auditors
  • IT security managers and officers


Candidates have to show their ITIL® v3 Foundation ou Foundation Bridge certificate to the trainer before the third day of course. It is strongly recommended to read the officiel ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement publication before the course.

At course completion

After completing this course, participants will be able to:

  • Have a deeper undertstanding of ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement's philosophy, concepts, principles, processes and activities
  • Develop an heuristique approach to implement ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement
  • Pass the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Continual Servive Improvement examination


This course prepare to pass the ITIL® Intermediate :ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement exam.
This exam is made of 8 gradient multiple choice questions, lasts 90 minutes with a passing score of 70%.
Each question is scenario based, each question having its own scenario. Each proposed option get a different number of marks (5, 3, 1, 0) depending on how much it fits with the scenario.
If you are a PMP® credential holder, this course gives you 21 PDUs.

Course outline

Module 1: Introduction to ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement
Module 2: ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement's Principles
Module 3: The 7-steps improvement process
Module 4: Methods and techniques to improve services and processes
Module 5: ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement's organisation
Module 6: Technological considerations
Module 7: ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement's implementation
Module 8: Challenges, success factors and risks
Module 9: Review and exam preparation

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of the Cabinet Office


Printed slides to review and take notes
Official publication (ITIL® Continual Servive Improvement)

Cursus de certification

Following the ITIL® Foundation certificate, this certificate is a complement (3 crédits) to gain 17 crédits required to pass the Manage through the Across the service LifeCycle (MALC) and receive the ITIL® Expert credential. Missing credits will be acquired through other intermediate certificates (see below for a list of possible course to gain credits).


These exercices listed here are indicative and may be completed with complementary labs depending on participants' objectives and available time
Module 1 :

  • Why implementing a Service management?
  • Identify inputs from / outputs to other service lifecycle stages

Module 3

  • Based on a case study, aaply the 7-steps improvement process

Module 4

  • Identify advantages and drawbacks of an internal maturity assessment against external audit
  • Identify Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)
  • Identify Key Indocators to build a Balanced Scorecard
  • Use SWOT technique to analyse a given case

Module 5

  • Identify responsabilities for some roles

Module 6

  • Define selection criteria for an ITSM tool

Module 7

  • Identify common causes of failure implementing a change / improvement

Formations complémentaires

Training: ITIL® Foundation
Training: ITIL® Intermediate Strategy
Training: ITIL® Intermediate Design
Training: ITIL® Intermediate Transition
Training: ITIL® Intermediate Operation
Training: ITIL® Intermediate Practitioner